Howard County powers, Glenelg and Oakland Mills, reach state dual championships

Email Facebook MySpace Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Google Bookmarks Print 

Gladiators win 3A/4A East region, while Scorpions take 1A/2A South crown

Glenelg (No.10 per the Maryland State Wrestling Association) brought home the 3A/4A East region dual meet title from South River High School on Wednesday night with a 37-33 win over the hosts in the finals. The Gladiators downed Bel Air, 42-28, in the semi-finals. In the other semi-final, South River edged Broadneck, 33-29, in a match that came down to the final bout.

No.18 Oakland Mills defeated host La Plata 39-30. The Scorpions beat Kent Island 42-36 in their semi-final pairing. The Warriors took out Southern of Anne Arundel County, 34-30, in the second semi-final match.

3A/4A East:


Glenelg 37, South River 33

(match started at 113)

113-Calvin Brumfield (SR) dec Logan Gwin, 5-4

120-Tino Campanile (G) dec Tyler Larson, 7-1

126-Jared Thomas (G) pinned Haden Mackowiak, 3:03

132-Ryan Castro (SR) pinned Ian Gwin, 1:59

138-Drew Sotka (G) dec Trenton Puccinelli, 5-4

145-Dylan Istre (G) pinned Jonas Beardmore, 3:26

152-Jacob Jones (G) pinned Gage Kinohi (SR), 2:16

160-Max Sotka (G) maj-dec Zach Wasilewski, 16-7

170-Garrett Murray (G) dec Sam Savala, 6-3

182-Sam Alsheimer (G) pinned Danny Cowan, 2:52

195-Moses Savala (SR) won by forfeit

220-Zach Osborne (SR) won by forfeit

285-Brendan Woody (SR) won by forfeit

106-Isaac Barber (SR) won by forfeit



Glenelg 42, Bel Air 28

106-Kevin Hansberger (G) pinned Troy Dureza, 1:32

113-Brent Lorin (BA) maj-dec Logan Gwin, 15-4

120-Jacob Reed (BA) dec Tino Campanile, 3-2

126-Jared Thomas (G) pinned Dylan Paul, 0:32

132-Ian Gwin (G) pinned Zach Alasio, 1:58

138-Drew Sotka (G) pinned Grant Cole, 3:41

145-Dylan Istre (G) dec Liam Bowers, 3-2

152-Scott Miser (BA) dec Jacob Jones, 8-2

160-Max Sotka (G) pinned Dave Aboud, 4:47

170-Garrett Murray (G) pinned Noah Beyers, 1:40

182-Sam Queen (BA) won by forfeit

195-Sam Alsheimer (G) dec Tommy Gomez, 5-1

220-Jack Brink (BA) won by forfeit

285-Joe Cirillo (BA) won by forfeit


South River 33, Broadneck 29

106-Isaac Barber (SR) pinned Justin Cassidy, 2:31

113-Calvin Brumfield (SR) pinned Ethan Kanetzsky, 3:59

120-Nick Shardt (B) pinned Tyler Larson,3:12

126-Haden Mackowiak (SR) maj-dec Kyle Keller, 13-1

132-Ryan Castro (SR) pinned Joe Ward, 1:24

138-Owen Joyce (B) dec Trenton Puccinelli, 8-4

145-Mack Groah (B) dec Jonas Beardmore, 8-6

152-Gage Kinohi (SR) maj-dec Justin Hartstuff, 9-1

160-Zack Wasilewski (SR) maj-dec Drake Pollock, 11-2

170-Zach Doyle (B) pinned Sam Savala, 2:45

182-Wyatt Thompson (B) maj-dec Danny Cowan, 19-9

195-Noah Genovese (B) maj-dec Moses Savala, 9-1

220-Vinny Facciponti (B) dec Zach Osborne, 3-1 UTB

285-Brendan Woody (SR) dec Ryan McNeal, 4-0


1A/2A South:


Oakland Mills 39, LaPlata 30

220-Khalil Abdul-Malik (OM) pinned Eric Ward, 0:56

285-Kyle Boothe (OM) dec Colton Saschia, 4-3 (4OT)

106-Owen Butler (LA) maj-dec Jalen Cornelius, 11-0

113-Daiquan Anderson (OM) maj-dec Josh Roberts, 11-2

120-David Hayes (LA) won by forfeit

126-Marco Frederico (LA) pinned Zubir Gohmon, 0:33

132-Kyle Farace (OM) pinned Mike Bellerose, 1:10

138-Jack Chipps (LA) tech-fall James Pender, 18-2

145-Ben Goldfein (OM) pinned Nick Meadows, 1:48

152-Johnny Rynn (OM) tech-fall Matt Embrey, 22-5

160-David Cooksey (LA) pinned Anthony Morales, 0:29

170-Corbin Bales (LA) dec Mulbah Kamara, 5-2

182-Paul Johnson (OM) pinned Jason Moehler, 1:54

195-Ernie Smith (OM) dec Ryan Latimer 8-5

Last Updated (Thursday, 09 February 2017 20:32)



TERMS OF SERVICE   |   PRIVACY STATEMENT  | Copyright @ 2010 SportsCom Media LLC | .